Healer Form GO!

Wow over a month without a post! My apologies.

I have a few things of order to address first I suppose. Part of the reason I do not post very much is (as silly as it sounds) is that I’m never quite sure all what I want to say. I originally started this as a sort of general, catch-all blog to just go on about my adventures in Azeroth on my alts with nothing too serious. Which is awesome because I could talk about whatever I wanted…but it was bad because I didn’t have any direction in which to go. So for now, I think I’m going to dedicate this blog to mostly healing reflections. This blog is not and will not be a guide by any means. So, if you had come here to enjoy some super casual meanderings and maybe some huntering….I’m sorry to disappoint. For now the site will stay as it is. I’d really rather not have to create a new blog. However, I will always be Kandin 🙂

When I last left you, my shammy (Mertaka) was my focus for gearing and I had just moved my paladin (Crimiia) from Alliance to Horde. Healing was a struggle. Healing was a morale breaker. The horrors of my inadequate heals leaked their way into nightmares.

Now, I’m quite happy to say that Mertaka and Crimiia are both geared enough to handle raiding and I’m working on getting my priest (Roneka) geared up as well. I’m very very thankful I moved my paladin and started healing on her as she was the character that renewed my hope. So indeed things in regards to the healing have been going quite well overall I guess I would say. I was quite happy to see Shamans get a buff to their healing and to see that Blizzard is listening when we say we need an “OH SHI-” cooldown. I did not feel that the paladin “nerf” was as big and serious as quite a few people made it out to be and I could totally understand the need to balance Holy Paladins.

Looking forward to 4.1, I’m actually happy to see that Word of Glory will have a 20 second cooldown and that only Holy paladins will be able to reduce or get rid of it entirely. As evil as it sounds, I’m glad that Ret and Prot paladins will have one less cushion to fall back on when they want to do something silly. Like pulling the next mob while waiting for the healer to drink, or trying to “off-tank” a mob for a tank, or standing in Bad Shit because hey, they can just pop Word of Glory and be a-okay. Yes I can understand that some Ret and Prot pallies like to use it to take some stress off of the healer especially if the healer is a bit undergeared or having a rough day, but I do think that in a lot of cases it is/was being used to put off a mechanic just a little bit longer or to just not perform properly in a fight. I also like the added cooldown because now I feel that using this spell will actually mean something. It isn’t just another mindless button to press because you have a random charge of Holy Power to use. I almost like to think of it as if Elemental and Enhancement shamans got a version of Riptide. They wouldn’t be able to just HoT themselves and roflroll through everything.

I’m not quite sure how I feel about Priest changes, mostly to due to not having spent very much time on a healing priest. Roneka is currently running Holy with a Disc off-spec that sits in the corner. I really originally wanted to play her as a Disc priest but it seemed that the people designing the class could not figure out what it is exactly that they wanted to do with Disc. The cost of Shields is a bit steep in my opinion, and I don’t see the increase absorption at all. Smite healing for a week was quite an experience; I definitely did not enjoy having my Smite crits wasted on someone’s pet however, and it felt a little awkward to say the least. I thought it was a great spec for leveling if you don’t want to level Shadow however and have considered leveling my lowbie Alliance priest as Disc-Smite just for something a little different once she can access the Atonement skill.

And they’re not buggering with Resto shamans at this point. Hooray.

 

Leave a Reply

